More Pictures of the Versoix, Switzerland Ice Storm

Last week, I posted pictures of Lac Leman (Lake Geneva)’s ice storm.  I took them in  the Eaux-Vives area of Geneva, Switzerland.  The post included a picture that was widely circulated (it went viral) of a car covered in ice after the ice storm in Versoix, Switzerland.  Versiox is about 20 minutes up the lake from Geneva.  I couldn’t resist going to see and take some more ice pictures.

Courtesy of the Telegraph and AFP

I wasn’t the only one who wanted to see it.  There were adults with cameras and children sliding on the ice.  Other bloggers have also posted pictures.  Clearly, I am not as talented as the AFP photographer who took the shot above.  Nevertheless, it was impressive.

Car covered in ice after the Versoix ice storm

Apparently, ice storms like this are not a regular occurrence here.  You can find pictures on the internet from one in 2005, but this could very well be the only one we see.

Someone placed a mannequin on the dock

 

13 thoughts on “More Pictures of the Versoix, Switzerland Ice Storm

  1. These pictures left me in awe! I can’t imagine how cold it had to have gotten to build up all that ice. Thanks for posting. I find your blog very intriguing. My dad spent a couple years in Switzerland before he was married, and I’ve always wanted to go. I’ll have to enjoy it via your blog for now.

  2. Pingback: I got the chills here in Geneva « lady J's musings

  3. Pingback: The big freeze here in Switzerland « lady J's musings

  4. Pingback: The News From Geneva | schwingeninswitzerland

  5. Pingback: The Toblerone Line, One Sweet Barrier | schwingeninswitzerland

  6. Pingback: How Do You Pronounce Ouchy? | schwingeninswitzerland

  7. Pingback: Geneva’s Bucolic Beauty | schwingeninswitzerland

  8. Pingback: Les Incompetents Vol. 10: Nothing Beats The Simple Pleasure Of A Bike Ride | schwingeninswitzerland

  9. Pingback: Schwingen In Switzerland’s Top 10 Posts Of 2012 | schwingeninswitzerland

  10. Pingback: Las fascinantes esculturas de hielo que diseña la naturaleza : Bienvenidos a noticias Sisegra Online

  11. Pingback: These alien-looking ice sculptures formed all on their own | Mannaismayaadventure's Blog

  12. Pingback: Las fascinantes esculturas de hielo que diseña la naturaleza | Album Digital Hofmann

Leave a comment